Charge

From A Song of Ice and Fire : TMG Wiki

The Charge action allows a unit to rapidly advance forward into an enemy, using their momentum to make a powerful attack!

Details

Type Action

When a unit performs a Charge action, it must first declare a valid target for its charge. For an enemy unit to be a valid target, the following must apply:

  • The targeted enemy must be in the attacker's Line of Sight (LoS) at the start of the action.
  • The Line of Sight Arc of the target unit must have space for the attacker's tray to align to at least 50% contact with the target's tray without being obstructed by another unit/terrain.[1]
  • The enemy must be within the maximum distance the attacker may be able to move (including the die roll). A unit may never declare a Charge action it cannot complete.

If all of the above conditions are met, the enemy is a valid target for the charge. You will then perform the following steps in order: (Note that all steps: pivoting, moving the attacker, aligning with the target, etc., are all part of the same move)[2]

  1. Determine Line of Sight Arc: You must first determine which of the defender's Line of Sight Arcs the attacker is in. If the charge is successful, the attacker will end up contacting the enemy in whichever Line of Sight Arc it began in. If the attacker's tray crosses into several of the defender's Line of Sight Arcs, use the one the majority of its tray is in.In the event it is exactly 50/50 across different Line of Sight Arcs, the attacker may choose the arc.
  2. Pivot Attacker: The attacker may then pivot as long as the targeted enemy remains in its Line of Sight and will potentially cotact the enemy during its move.[3]
  3. Roll Charge Distance and Move Attacker: The attacker will then roll a D6. This roll, plus the attacker's Speed stat is its total charge distance. The attacker is then moved directly forward its total charge distance, stopping only if it would contact another unit it cannot cross or a Terrain piece it cannot cross (in which case it will stop 1" away from that unit/Terrain piece). If, at any point during this move, it contacts the targeted enemy's tray, then it was a Successful Charge. If it fails to contact the targeted enemy's tray for any reason (such as rolling too low on its total charge distance) the result is a Failed Charge. Additionally, if the attacker rolls a 1 for its charge distance roll, it suffers a Disorderly Charge.
  4. Align with enemy: When a unit makes a Successful Charge, the attacker will then align with the targeted enemy unit. Place the attacker so that it is aligned to either 50% or 100% to the defender's tray. If the attacker cannot be aligned directly at 50% or 100% their tray must be aligned as close to one of these two as possible (remembering that for a Charge to be valid the attacker must have been able to align to at least 50%).[4]
  5. Resolve Attack: Once in their final positions, the attacker will resolve 1 Melee Attack against the defender. This Charge attack gets the Combat Bonus of being able to re-roll any attack dice.[5][6]

Failed Charge

Many things can lead to a unit not contacting its target when it charges, the most common of which is failing to roll high enough for its total charge distance. Whatever the reason, if the attacker does not contact its target during its move, the result is a Failed Charge. The attacker suffers a Panic Test and then its activation immediately ends.

Disorderly Charge

Several things can complicate a charge, leading to delayed orders, improper coordination, and other issues that might hinder a unit's effectiveness while Charging.

In the event that the attacker rolls a 1 for its charge distance, they suffer a Disorderly Charge: they do not gain Charge Bonuses for this attack, and the attacker may not play Tactics Cards for the remainder of this unit's action.[7]

Restrictions

A Charge action may not be performed while Engaged.

Engaging Multiple Enemies

In some cases, after making a Successful charge, the attacker might end up in contact with other enemies beside the target of their charge. In this case, those enemies will be aligned so they are engaging the attacker at 50% or 100% (moving the least possible distance). If they cannot, they are instead moved, by their owner, to 1" away from the attacker. If a situation arises where 1" cannot be done, any/all trays should be moved the least possible distance to avoid being engaged.[8]

Examples

Example 1: Charge

Example Charge 01.png

In this example, the Stark Sworn Swords are 8” away from the Lannister Guardsmen. Their Speed is 5. They will need to roll a 3+ to successfully charge the Lannister Guardsmen.

Example 2: Flank Charge

Example Charge 02.png

In this example, the majority of the Stark Sworn Swords’ tray is in the Flank Arc of the Lannister Guardsmen.

Example Charge 03.png

Assuming the Stark Sworn Swords roll high enough to contact them, they will align with the Flank of the Lannister Guardsmen, gaining additional benefits when attacking.

Example 3: Failed Charge

Example Charge 04.png

The Stark Sworn Swords are 8” away and have a Speed of 5. They need to roll a 3+ but unfortunately only roll a 2.

Example Charge 05.png

The Stark Sworn Swords move 7” directly forward, falling 1” short of contacting the Lannister Guardsmen. Not a good position in which to be!

Frequently Asked Questions

If I Charge and end on top of Stakes, do I suffer D3+1 Wounds twice?

No. The unit would suffer D3+1 Wounds immediately upon completing their move through the Stakes (eg. before they resolve their Melee Attack), but would only suffer this damage once.[9]

If I Charge and contact the enemy, but my alignment puts me over Terrain with the Rough or Hindering keywords, how does that interact?

Once a charge is successful it cannot be later turned into a failed charge. These keywords would only affect the unit if they crossed it during their charge move, not during alignment.[10]

References

  1. Updated 1.5
  2. All steps of a Charge are treated as a single move (Clarification. No rule change.) FAQ v1.4
  3. After Pivot, the charging unit must, at least potentially, be able to contact their target. FAQ v1.4
  4. Reworded v1.5
  5. "Resolve Melee Attack" changed to "Make Melee Attack" (Clarification. No rule change.) FAQ v1.4
  6. Reworded v1.5
  7. “Disorderly Charge” text reworded (No rule change, only clarification) FAQ v1.4
  8. Added 1.5
  9. FAQ v1.6
  10. FAQ v1.6