Ability

From A Song of Ice and Fire : TMG Wiki

Description

Units may have one or more Abilities. Each Ability is unique and lists its full rules. Sometimes, an Ability will have a symbol next to its box. This acts as a visual reminder for when the Ability is used.

Optional

Unless specifically noted otherwise, all Abilities are always active on a unit and are not optional. (eg The Lannister Halberdiers’s Halberd attack has the Sundering Ability. This Ability is always applied to their attack. A player could not voluntarily choose not to use it.)

Ability Stacking

Sometimes a unit will be granted an ability it already had, such as playing a Tactics Card that grants Sundering onto a unit that already had Sundering. Effects and Abilities with the same name are not cumulative: a unit either has the Ability or it does not have the Ability! Note, however, that sometimes Abilities might grant similar effects but do not have the same name. In these cases, the effects are cumulative.

Example 1

An attack with Sundering (Defenders suffer -1 to Defense Save rolls) hits an enemy on the Flank. The Flank Bonus is Defenders suffer -1 to Defense Save rolls and -1 to Panic Test rolls. Even though these effects are similar, they do not share the same name, so the enemy would suffer a total of -2 to Defense Save rolls and -1 to Panic Test rolls for that attack.

Example 2

A unit has the Stalwart Ability (This unit gains +2 to Morale Test rolls). They also have an Attachment that grants the Stalwart Ability. The unit would only gain +2 to its Morale Test rolls, as both of these Abilities share the same name.

Icon Melee.png Melee Attack Ability

This shows that the Ability is tied to the unit’s Melee Attack.

Icon Ranged.png Ranged Attack Ability

This shows that the Ability is tied to the unit’s Ranged Attack. Ranged Attacks will also list the attack’s maximum range. Note, however, that while listed here, an attack’s maximum range is not an Ability, and can never be cancelled or removed.

Icon Order.png Order

Orders are powerful Abilities that may be activated only once per round. Each Order Ability will list a specific trigger showing when it can be used. Once an Order is used, it cannot be used again that round. Place an Order Token on the Ability to show that it has been used, and remove this token during the Clean-Up Phase.

Unit NCU.png Non-Combat Unit Ability

Icon Innate.png Innate Ability

These represent Abilities central to a unit’s physical or natural capabilities, such as being able to suffer multiple Wounds. Innate Abilities cannot be cancelled or removed by effects or other Abilities.[1]

Affiliation

Affiliation Abilities represent a unit's allegiance to a particular House.

Generic Ability

References

  1. “Wound” Abilities changed to “Innate Abilities”; errata added that such Abilities cannot be lost or cancelled.FAQ v1.4